ACM Europe Council Sponsors Best Paper Awards at Conferences

The ACM Europe Council Best Paper Awards recognize authors of outstanding technical contributions to ACM conferences taking place in Europe. The award will acknowledge groundbreaking research in each conference's respective field for its importance and contribution to the area, to highlight theoretical and practical innovations that are likely to shape the future of computing both in Europe and worldwide.

Award Criteria and Selection Process
Every ACM Conference that takes place in Europe in the award year is eligible for the Award. The recipient of the award will be chosen by an award committee in conformance with Conference Policies.

Prior to the eligible conference deadline, the ACM Europe Council will contact the conference organizers to establish their interest in bestowing the award (or vice-versa).

The evaluation criteria will be determined by the International Program Committee Co-Chairs of each participating conference. They will either select the winners themselves, barring any conflicts of interest, or the winners will be decided by the Program Committee. The specific procedure for the award presentation for each venue will be decided by either the Steering Committee or the Program Committee.

Submission Process
All papers accepted for oral presentation at a participating Conference will be eligible for the award.

Each of the winners will receive a plaque. In addition, there will be a 1000 Euro honorarium to be split among the winners. Moreover, the recipient's paper will be provided online through the ACM Europe Council Awards page.

All expenses related to the award will be covered by the ACM Europe Council.

The award will be presented during the award ceremony at the conference by an ACM Europe Council member attending the conference, or by a party designated by the Council.

ACM Europe Council Conferences Working Group Members

ACM Conferences in Europe

The ACM Europe Council seeks to work with ACM Special Interest Groups to increase the number of ACM conferences in Europe. Our annual technical conference includes a number of satellite events, including the womENcourage conference organized by ACM-WE. In addition the Council seeks to increase our engagement with ACM conferences held in Europe by presenting ACM awards for best student papers at these events.

UIST 2018, 14-17 October, Berlin, Germany

RESi: A Highly Flexible, Pressure-Sensitive, Imperceptible Textile Interface Based on Resistive Yarns, by Patrick Parzer, Florian Perteneder, Kathrin Probst, Christian Rendl, Joanne Leong, Sarah Schuetz, Anita Vogl, Reinhard Schwoediauer, Martin Kaltenbrunner, Siegfried Bauer, and Michael Haller, received the ACM Europe Best Paper Award. The certificate was presented on 15 October at the 31st ACM User Interface Software and Technology Symposium.

ACM Europe Council Best Paper Award presented by Aaron Quigley to Patrick Parzer and Florian Perteneder at UIST 2018

ITiCSE 2018, 2-4 July, Larnaca, Cyprus

Ali Erkan was the recipient of the ACM Europe Best Paper Award for the paper, The Educational Insights and Opportunities Afforded by the Nuances of Prim's and Kruskal's MST Algorithms. The certificate was presented on 4 July 2018 at the 23rd Annual Conference on Innovation and Technology in Computer Science Education by ACM Europe Council Vice Chair Judith Gal-Ezer of The Open University of Israel.

VRST 2017, 8-10 November, Gothenburg

The 23rd ACM Symposium on Virtual Reality Software and Technology was a record event in terms of submissions (183), participants (240) and graduate students. Congratulations to the team from Chalmers University who made this venue a remarkable success. The ACM Europe Council Best Student Paper Award went to Kangsoo Kim, Gerd Bruder, and Gregory Welch (University of Central Florida) for Exploring the Effects of Observed Physicality Conflicts on Real-Virtual Human Interaction in Augmented Reality.

IOT 2017, 22-25 October, Linz

The Conference on the Internet of Things, building on the success of its predecessors since 2008, is the premier forum for sharing, discussing and witnessing cutting-edge research in all areas of IoT development. The ACM Europe Council was proud to sponsor the Best Student Paper Award, which went to Matúš Tomlein and Kaj Grønbæk of Aarhus University for A Visual Programming Approach Based on Domain Ontologies for Configuring Industrial IoT Installations.

At the conference dinner held on 24 October in the VOEST Alpine Guest House, Matus Tomlein (center, holding certificate) was honored by PC-Chairs Stefan Schneegass (left) and Simon Mayr (right). The award certificate and the famous

EICS 2017, 26-29 June, Lisbon

The ACM SIGCHI Engineering Interactive Systems Symposium traces its origins to the Design Specification and Verification of Interactive Systems as far back as 1994. The ACM Europe Council was proud to support the Best Paper Award, which went to Miriam Greis, Hendrik Schuff, Marius Kleiner, Niels Henze, and Albrecht Schmidt of VIS, University of Stuttgart, Germany for Input Controls for Entering Uncertain Data: Probability Distribution Sliders.

ACM Europe Council Executive Committee member Joaquim Jorge congratulating Best Student Paper award co-recipient Miriam Greis at ACM EICS 2017 in Lisbon.

SODA 2017, 16-19 January, Barcelona

The ACM-SIAM Symposium on Discrete Algorithms is jointly sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT) and the SIAM Activity Group on Discrete Mathematics. The Best Paper Award was awarded jointly to Sergio Cabello for Subquadratic Algorithms for the Diameter and the Sum of Pairwise Distances in Planar Graphs; and to Ami Paz and Gregory Schwartzman for A (2 + Є) Approximation for Maximum Weight Matching in the Semi-Streaming Model, which also won the Best Student Paper Award.

CCS 2016, 24-28 October, Vienna

The ACM Conference on Computer and Communications Security is the flagship annual conference of ACM's Special Interest Group on Security, Audit and Control (SIGSAC). From its inception, CCS has established itself as a high standard research conference in its area. The ACM Europe Council was proud to join SIGSAC in awarding the Best Student Paper at the Hofburg Palace to Xiao Han, Nizar Kheir (Orange Labs) and Davide Balzarotti (Eurecom) for PhishEye: Live Monitoring of Sandboxed Phishing Kits.

ACM Europe Council / ACM-W Europe Executive Committee member Gabriele Anderst-Kotsis congratulating Best Student Paper Award co-recipient Xiao Han.

VRST 2016, 2-4 November, Munich

ACM Virtual Reality Software Technology is one of the oldest conferences in the topical field of Virtual Reality. The ACM Europe Council was proud to join ACM/SIGGRAPH in supporting the Best Paper Award to Misha Sra (MIT Media Lab Student), Sergio Garrido-Jurado (University of Córdoba), and Chris Schmandt and Pattie Maes (MIT Media Lab) for Procedurally Generated Virtual Reality from 3D Reconstructed Physical Space. The Student Best Paper Award went to Qianqian Tong, Zhiyong Yuan, Mianlun Zheng, Weixu Zhu, Guian Zhang, and Xiangyun Liao (Wuhan University) for A Novel Magnetic Levitation Haptic Device for Augmentation of Tissue Stiffness Perception.

Prof Hans-Joachim Hof hands the Best Paper Award to Misha Sra, a graduate student from MIT Media Lab and first author of the paper.