Prof. Silvio Micali, ACM A.M. Turing Award laureate and MIT Professor, will give a keynote lecture. Dr. Lucilla Sioli, EU Commission Director for Digital Industry and AI, will be present at the school. Prof. Natasa Milic-Frayling, University of Nottingham UK, will address collaboration and diversity issues in a special dedicated session. Dr. Ing. Gerhard Schimpf, former chair of the ACM Europe Council Committee of European Chapter Leaders, will present the ACM Being-Human with Algorithms initiative and the student chapter activity in Europe.

The school chairpersons are Prof. Mateo Valero (Director of the Barcelona Supercomputing Center, ACM – IEEE CS Eckert-Mauchly Award recipient, ACM Fellow, and ERC grantee) and Prof. Josep Fernandez (CS Dean, Facultat d’Informatica de Barcelona).

The local organizing committee is led by Prof. Eduard Ayguadé, BSC and UPC and Dr. Fabrizio Gagliardi, BSC, UPC and ACM.

The online application form is available via the following link: https://services.acm.org/hpc_summer_school/summer_school.cfm. Given the recent confirmation of additional industrial sponsors, we are happy to offer to the top 10 applicants a free registration to the ACM Europe Summer School 2019 in Barcelona. The deadline for applying is 1 May 2019, End of Day, Anywhere on Earth (AoE), UTC -12 hours.

Who can participate?

The School is open to participants from all countries and all nationalities. Advanced undergraduate and graduate (MSc and PhD) students, postdocs, young faculty, and other academic and industrial researchers interested in an intensive course on HPC Computer Architectures for AI and dedicated applications are welcome to apply. [MORE...]


Apply to the 2019 Barcelona ACM Europe Summer School

Admission to the Summer School will be based on the candidate’s profile, academic and professional experience, together with their motivation letter and the two recommendation letters. To be considered, complete he online application form here. The top 10 applicants will receive free registration. The deadline for applying is 1 May 2019.